Archives for posts with tag: Australia

EN Tokyo Vol.9 – 2. Beat Session ///

Specs WizardGolden Eagle EP ///


The First Baboon CivilizationThe First Baboon Civilization (Moontown Records cassette) ///


Next Phase Records – Wound Up Beat Tape ///


The Gaslamp Killer Experience – “Ritual” with Lucian Shapiro & Minka Sicklinger ///

J.RoccMadlib Carnival Speical (featuring Madlib & Peterock)  ///


ZerosystemIn the Loop Radio #19 (Saikei Collective Invasion) ///


Alan LeeAn Australian Jazz Anthology (Jazzman Records) ///


Bastien KebLove Just Died Tonight (from upcoming album “Dinking In The Shadows of Zizou“) ///

Average Rap BandStream of Nonsense ///

Nickelus F & Shawn Kemp (Lil Ugly Mane ?) – Trick Dice ///

Frits WentinkBobbyDonnyRadio #02 – Red Light Radio ///



Via C O S M I C | C O M P O S I T I O N S – 

This compilation is a dedication to Saturn born composer, bandleader, piano and synthesizer player, poet and philosopher ~ Sun Ra. 

Featuring tracks from JLNI ~ Sam a La Bamalot ~ Whoarei ~Swallows Fly Low ~ Melodiesinfonie ~ Lux Natura ~ Amin Payne ~ 10th Letter ~ zeroh & Low Leaf ~ FloFilz & Wun Two ~ Dave Sparkz & Camillo Fritangi ~ Christoph El’ Truento ~ Ben Jamin ~ Yatha Bhuta Jazz Combo ~ Jublet ~KAMAHO ADISA ~ Tuamie ~ NAHM-SAYN ~ Ace Mo ~ Ewonee The Beatnik ~ David Straange ~ N.O.M.A.D ~ Isaac Aesili ~ J Boogie ~ Lord Akton ~ Stainless Steele ~ Iller The Abstract Giraffe ~ Grass Mirror ~ Mono:Massive..

This compilation is a free/name your price download with all money raised being donated to the Philippines typhoon relief fund.. 

We feel there is a huge similarity between the Avant-Garde/Free Jazz movement of the 50’s & 60’s & the beat movement of Today. As both movements attempted to break down, extend & alter the conventions of their original genres (Jazz & Hip Hop) & were never afraid to experiment & improvise to create something that wasn’t accepted commercially at the time.

Paxico Records out of NYC recently (6.8.13) held one of their many Paxico Powwows, a live audio and video broadcast that is held from a secret location around New York City. The lineup featured Mndsgn, Suzi Analogue, Swarvy, Noah B, Malik Abdul Rahmaan and more. Check out the GodsConnect video from that evening featuring the live set from Mndsgn and download the mp3 of his set here.


Hiatus KaiyoteTawk Tomahawk an amazing release from 2012 we just discovered. An Australian band that brings future beats, neo soul, avant garde and r&b together, extremely impressive stuff.


N.O.M.A.D. drops another lovely experimental jazz project D U N E


Electric Sea Spider, Electronic/Hip hip producer from Melbourne, Australia releases a new album entitled Supercash. 


Electric Egypt out of Cape York, Australia drops a new album entitled “Exotica”. The album features production from Electric Egypt and collaborations with Jonti, La Note, As Valet, 10 Letter and more. Electric Egypt’s sound is filled with tropical, spacey electronic, analogue, jazz  influences that can all be summed up by it’s title, Exotica.


The Dust Down Under is an exclusive mix created by DIBIA$E to promote his upcoming Australia // New Zealand Tour [April 2nd – 16th]. It features collaborations with both MNDSGN and Devonwho.


Via Stones Throw –

Jonti is the newest artist on Stones Throw, with a 45 released today – Firework Spraying Moon – and his album Twirligig coming in October.

From the artist: “Sine N’ Moon is a collection of songs I made before i started to work on Twirligig.  It starts with the first song i ever recorded called ’Saturday Night Songs’. While Gathering around a 4-track on a Saturday night  doesn’t exactly paint the perfect adolescence out of a Skins script (Ukulele solo’s don’t help either) It does show the role and beautiful friendship I’ve had with music since i left South Africa. The Stones Throw Podcast #67 can be downloaded through iTunes here

1. Saturday Night Songs
2. Red On Green Ft. Jonwayne
3. Confused Birds
4. Nagoya Train Station 3 am
5. Nightshift In Blue/Koi Moon interlude
6. By This Shore
7. Flesh Of Morning
8. Lost Machines
9. Young Wildebeest
10. Nagoya Interlude
11. Moon Goddess
12. Sugar High
13. Passaros (Lovers Stone version)

Check out Stainless Steele’s track using Jonti’s beat from the  podcast…


Two collections of mostly unreleased beats/demos/ideas from early 2010 – mid 2011 for free download.

“I have tons of these unfinished bastards lying around. So, here are some of them. Most of these were probably recorded and abandoned while i was distracted watching Spongebob or Cops or something. Enjoy.”  – Electric Sea Spider via Bandcamp


Jonti may not be a familiar name just yet but that’s no reflection of his resume. Multi-instrumentalist, arranger, producer, and vocalist, Jonti, began assembling music after his departure from South Africa to Australia in 1999. Spending countless hours studying records like they were books, processing each song, this became Jonti’s music school, testing his theories on a 4-track recorder.


If you love music, eventually you meet others who do too. In the past year, through different projects, Jonti has recorded with Mark Ronson, Santigold, Sean Lennon and the Dap-Kings, as well as producer John Agnello (Sonic Youth, Dinosaur Jr., Kurt Vile). Ironically, for Jonti’s solo album, he decided to purposely go the opposite route, doing everything himself, start to finish.


Although Jonti describes his music as simple, label head Peanut Butter Wolf sees it as anything but that. “I understand the pop references because his music is so catchy, but the arrangements blew me away. I couldn’t figure out how the hell he did what he did. That he did it all on his own at such an early age kinda scared me. I knew right away I needed to add him to the roster.” You will soon understand why Stones Throw is proud to present it’s first Australian signing Jonti as a new member of the family.